Ishmael
5351th Post

user profileedit/delete message

PSN: Ishmael26b
XBL: n/a
Wii: n/a

Platinum Carpet V.I.P- Board Master

"2015 Rodeo Roundup" , posted Tue 22 Dec 06:57post reply

It's the end of the year so it's time to reflect on some of the games I played.

Bloodborne A game full of black death trappings that turns into Lovecraftian horror? That's my jam! Trouble is, in 2015 I started playing games with headphones. In Bloodborne everything is constantly shrieking, snarling and coughing at you. I often play games to unwind at the end of the day but I couldn't play Bloodborne because it was always yelling in my ears. So while I like Bloodborne I can only play it when I have a free afternoon to spend on a game that winds me back up.

Mortal Kombat X I like that the damage that occurs during the fight to the characters was toned down so the winning fighter now look scuffed up but tough as opposed to crippled for life. What I wasn't prepared for was the sweat. Characters now have beady drops of sweat covering their bodies, even the parts that are pumping out ice or hellfire. It's unnerving to have the characters look like they are built out of greasy slices of chicken. The MK programmers should look at the DoA games to see how lovingly rendered body moisture can be.

Destiny I only played through the story mode -what there was of it- but I did get to experience the game during the period when Peter Dinklage was replaced. The game went from a monotone narrator reciting nonsensical lines to a narrator who emphatically recited nonsensical lines. Some game.

Witcher 3 What sold me on the game is that the main character is fussy about details while remaining slightly detached from the emotions of the quest he is on. He's the perfect representation of the mindset that comes from playing a game full of stats and items.