So...Rhythm Heaven - http://www.mmcafe.com/ Forums

Original message (1266 Views )

sfried
351th Post

user profileedit/delete message

Silver Customer

"So...Rhythm Heaven" , posted Fri 1 May 14:03post reply

I'm not good with music games. In fact, I suck at these games.

And yet I've been clamoring over whether I should get this or the GBA Rhythm Tengoku knowing it's meant to be taken in small doses. It's charming enough that it's WarioWare (which I've played bits off bet never actually owned) with music. A second reason with it being less focused on "simon says" game and more of timed reaction with a reasonable warnings before doing anything.

This is the sole reason I could never get into any of the Benami games because all of them rely on this formula memorizing the button presses of a certain song, which I have very little time to dedicate to nowdays. I've tried a bit of Guitar Hero (back before it was just one not so publicized game with no sequel), and Elite Beat Agents, but just couldn't see myself spending the time to be the perfectionist most of these games expect you to be.

Replies:

Pollyanna
2666th Post

Platinum Carpet V.I.P- Board Master

"Re(1):So...Rhythm Heaven" , posted Fri 1 May 15:13post reply

I never really saw the Bemani games as memorization based at all. They have an initial, annoying learning curve, but after you've advanced to a certain "level" of play, you can pretty much play any song on that "level".

I actually found MUCH more memorization necessary in Rhythm Tengoku, which can be incredibly frustrating at times and requires you to learn the "little tricks" necessary to pass levels. Since they're always pulling something over on you, it's often necessary to try each level multiple times before you really "get it". Gold is nice in that it let's you advance even if you don't pass a level (after failing numerous times), but I don't feel that I'm SO awful at video games that I should have to do that.