Night on the Galaxy Railroad/銀河 - http://www.mmcafe.com/ Forums

Original message (1556 Views )

Maou
1340th Post

user profileedit/delete message

Red Carpet Executive Member

"Night on the Galaxy Railroad/賢治" , posted Fri 18 Jan 04:36:post reply

Hey kids, this is a long shot, but I figure there must be enough Japanese literature folk (casual or academic) that I can ask this, plus I refuse to actually deal with any forum besides the Cafe. So!

I was hoping to share Miyazawa Kenji's 『銀河鉄道の夜』/'Night on the Galaxy Railroad' with some friends so I can talk about it with them, but I have no idea how to find any English versions. I love the original, but from what I can tell there's been a variety of translations of various qualities, many out of print. Kodansha has their bilingual book series of course, but I have no experience with their English renditions, either. Anyone have any experience reading this in English?

人間はいつも私を驚かせてくれる。不思議なものだな、人間という存在は...

[this message was edited by Maou on Fri 18 Jan 04:37]

Replies:

Iggy
8323th Post

Platinum Carpet V.I.P- Board Master

"Thread Hijack : Brave Story and other books" , posted Fri 18 Jan 06:13post reply

I have never read this book nor have I read translations in years (let alone english translations) so I'll hijack this thread to say Brave Story is a great, great book.

The movie is a brainless pile of scenes without any meaning or continuity, the manga is... well, I don't know enough words in any language to state what I think of it, but the original novel is a real piece of literature.
It's kinda like Neverending Story, it tells the story of a boy whose parents get a divorce (and not an easy one, if there even is such a thing), and he goes to a fantasy world to ask the Goddess of Fate to fix things up.

It's well written, it's clever, it states really interesting things about individual responsibility , racism and the place of individuals in the world, and...